FO – Rikke Hat

I am currently working on a secret test, so I’m not allowed to post any photos until the pattern is published in a book. I also need projects that I can take anywhere and work on when chatting with friends or my hubby. Thus, the reason for so many hats lately. Plus, every time I post one, I get requests from family to make them one 🙂

I’ve seen the Rikke Hat on so many blogs and my friends lists in Ravelry. I decided that I wanted to try it and since it is a free pattern, all I needed was the yarn, which I had in my stock pile. I followed the pattern exactly, using the same size needles suggested. The only exception was I stopped at 8 inches of length, instead of the recommended 9 inches. I think I would have run out of yarn if I would have kept going and it was plenty long enough, with great slouch. I had 6 grams of yarn left when I finished. You can see my notes here. There is a seam along the back of the hat and I think the next time, I might try the modified version found on this blog. With this project, I learned the German Twist Cast On. I will definitely use this cast on again with future hats. It stretches nicely and springs back.

I’ve heard a lot of great things about Madelinetosh yarn and this was my chance to try it out! I used the color Tart, a delicious deep red color that looks fantastic on my hubby, in the yarn weight Tosh DK. According to the Madelinetosh website, “Tosh DK is a 100% superwash merino wool, available in all of our luscious glazed solid colorways, with a generous 225 yards per skein. Working up at a versatile light-worsted gauge, Tosh DK is perfect for sweater and accessory projects. Each squishy soft skein is hand-dyed in small dye lots and machine washable.”

I wholeheartedly agree with the squishiness of working with this yarn. It was an absolutely delight to work up and drapes beautifully. I will, however, pass along a hint I received from my knitting group when using darker colors. I worked with this yarn in the heat and humidity and it dyed my hands / fingernails red. Since it is hand-dyed, you should always wash your yarn before working with it, especially if you will be using a lighter color and a darker color in the same garment. Otherwise, you are looking at a mess when you go to wash your finished project or transition into a new color. Lucky for me, the dye washed off with soap and water.

This is a present for my hubby’s birthday. He already knows this and will not be surprised when reading my blog. I had to try it on him several times to make sure that it was a perfect fit 🙂

IMG_9202 IMG_9204 IMG_9205

2 thoughts on “FO – Rikke Hat

Leave a Reply

