Weeknight Dinner – Easy Chicken Fajitas

I always need quick and easy recipes for weeknights; don’t we all? While browsing at my local Safeway, I saw some pre-sliced peppers and onions. I remembered a very Easy Chicken Fajitas recipe I found a few months ago and a quick check on my iPhone had me zipping through the store. I added an avocado, salsa, sour cream, thinly sliced chicken breasts, and some low carb tortillas. I had all the marinade ingredients at home, as well as the shredded cheese, lettuce and limes.

Of course, once I got home I realized I had forgotten to get gallon size plastic bags. So all the marinade ingredients (salt, cumin, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, cornstarch, olive oil, and water) went into a bowl (more eco-friendly anyway) along with the cut up chicken, onions, and peppers to sit for an hour until my husband got home from work. That meant more knitting time for me!

The marinade makes a fantastic sauce for the chicken and veggies while cooking and is literally finished in about 5-10 minutes, depending on how big you cut your chicken pieces. A quick squeeze of lime juice finishes everything off. Then, it’s just a matter of putting it all together for a very delicious dinner, full of flavor and fresh ingredients. Since there are only two of us, there will be plenty of leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Double win 🙂

Happy Eating!

IMG_9209

Chicken Fajitas Marinating

Cooking! Look at that delicious marinade!

Cooking! Look at that delicious marinade!

Ready to be rolled up! Yum!

Ready to be rolled up! Yum!

Leave a Reply

