Thursday Knit-a-Sock-Along: Week 2

Wow! What a busy, fast week it has been! My husband’s birthday was last Saturday and we celebrated with gifts and a very nice Italian dinner out. On Sunday, we went to see a play titled “My Mother’s Italian, My Father’s Jewish & I’m in Therapy” with our good friends, one of whom also celebrated his birthday last week. We finished up Sunday evening with a delicious dinner of Roasted Beef Tenderloin, Port Wine Reduction, Cacio e Pepe, a fantastic Salad and Olive Bread. Carrot Cake was served for dessert and we had loads of yummy Cabernet Sauvignon.

Between birthday celebrations and work on my test knit, I did not accomplish as much as I had wished on my sock this past week. However, progress was made! In my last post, I was 15 rows into the foot of the sock. This week, I am at 42 rows! It’s starting to look more like a sock than a toe warmer 🙂

One thing I have noticed is that I am accidentally adding a stitch here and there. I think I may be unconsciously performing a GSR stitch when moving to the next needle. It’s nothing that can’t be fixed by knitting two stitches together; however I wish I would catch myself in the act to see if that’s what I’m doing. The sock currently measures 5 3/4 inches and needs to be at 8 1/2 inches before starting the heel. Hopefully, I’ll get there before next week!

If you would like to join me and my other fearless sock knitters, here’s a link to Hannah’s blog and Maggie’s blog. Just search for their Sock posts 🙂

Happy Knitting!

42 rows of Foot Section complete; it's looking like a sock!

42 rows of Foot Section complete; it’s looking like a sock!

And some food pics! The first two are from our dinner out on my husband’s birthday. The third is the meal my friend Yvonne and I made for the two birthday boys on Sunday.

Sausage and Mushroom Pappardelle

Sausage and Mushroom Pappardelle in a Truffle Oil Cream Sauce

Chicken Penne

Chicken Penne with Spinach and Tomatoes

Beef Tenderloin, Port Wine Reduction, Caccio e Pepe, Salad and Olive Bread

Beef Tenderloin, Port Wine Reduction, Caccio e Pepe, Salad and Olive Bread

8 thoughts on “Thursday Knit-a-Sock-Along: Week 2

  1. This week has been crazy, but at least it’s been a fun kind of crazy 😀 I think yoice made a good bit of progress considering all tjats going on, and it looks great!

    Do you take notes as you knit? I found that it really helped me to focus in my stitches and catch my mistakes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The only thing I’ve been writing down is my row count, as I want the other sock to match perfectly. I have noted I have a little hole further down in the sock (I’ll fix it later) at the beginning of one of the rounds. And I noticed yesterday that I was actually adding a stitch at the beginning row of the top of my sock by not pulling the yarn correctly over the needle. That’s how I was getting the extra stitch. What type of notes do you take?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I write it all down. I’ll write the line of the pattern I’m working on, the row count for it, relevant color changes to help me with counting later on, if I’ve needed to make any changes for size – maybe this is why it’s taken so long for me to finish… 🙂

        I only brought notes up because I had the same number of rows and stitches for my last sock but it was still a bit smaller and I had to go back and add a couple of rows.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s an awesome idea! I know that both of my feet are slightly different in size and I’m currently working on the left foot, which is slightly bigger. Although, I don’t think it matters which foot the sock goes on in this pattern 🙂 Since I’m using a solid color, I don’t have to worry about color changes; however may need to with my next pair of socks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

