Thursday Knit-a-Sock-Along: Week 3

I’ve been dealing with carpal tunnel syndrome, so took time off from knitting 😦 , and spent minimal time on the computer this past week (outside of work), thus no blogging. With some rest, my hands are no longer tingling / numb and I am back at it! If you’ve ever had it, you know that rest is the best thing to heal. Luckily, I had an Art Glass class, my book club, and two sick dogs (not so lucky) to keep me busy.

In the last few days, I accomplished a lot. I am four rows away from finishing Charity’s Wrap and have made excellent progress on my first sock. I also received two project bags from an awesome shop, Knitter’s Nook, on Etsy to take along on my upcoming trip to Fort Lauderdale. I’m going to blog from my phone next Thursday…it will be exciting to see how that will work!

Onto my socks… In my last post, I had noted that I needed to get to 8 1/2 inches in length before starting the heel. After measuring my foot again, I realized that I actually needed 7 1/2 inches in length. I got to that point and started the heel. It was super easy using the German Short Rows (GSRs) and worked up exactly like the toes, without having to do the provisional cast on. I did have to pick up three stitches along the sides before beginning the leg section and then decrease on the next round.

I can no longer put the sock on my foot (good reason for trying magic loop next time!) so I stuffed it with other socks to kind of see the shape. Please excuse the lumpy pictures 🙂 I am currently 10 rows into the leg section and have 31 grams of yarn left. I know I need to have 5 grams left to finish the ribbed cuff, so have a lot still left to do. I also have a hole that I will have to tighten up once complete. It’s not perfect, but it’s getting there!

The pattern is not made like a traditional sock with the heel flaps, heel turns and gussets; however I have learned a lot and will be able to use the techniques in future sock patterns. I might even try a pattern that is traditional, just for the learning experience. To see my fellow sock knitters progress, check out their blogs! Maggie’s is here Project(s) in Progress and Hannah’s is here unsophisticated + jejune. If you would like to join us on our Thursday Knit-a-Sock along, link up with us!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

Butterfly Project Bag

Super cute Butterfly project bag!

Sheep Project Bag

Sheep Project Bag! Love it 🙂

Close up of GSRs when working the heel

Close up of GSRs when working the heel

IMG_9516

Heel complete

IMG_9519

Back of Heel

IMG_9525

Stuffed sock with leg section started; wow that looks long!

7 thoughts on “Thursday Knit-a-Sock-Along: Week 3

  1. I’m sorry you’ve been dealing with sick puppies and carpal tunnel 😦 Those are never fun but they make it especially impressive that you’re almost done! I’m loving the heel and it’s inspired me to look for a pattern with GSR’s for my fourth sock 🙂 [I’m doing regular short rows for this second sock and next comes an after thought heel]

    Have a wonderful time breaking in those project bags – I mean vacation 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 The pups are starting to get a little better. Thanks goodness as my pet sitter was worried about looking after sick dogs.

      I took my project bags with me to my knitting group today with my Sockhead Hat and my Sock. One of my fellow knitters advised me to put my sock on a circular cable to make sure it was going to fit and it fits like a dream 🙂 I also scored two sock books that the same knitter friend was giving away. Woo hoo!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sweeeeet! You had me worried there for a sec about the fitting. That’s a good idea for when I do toe-up socks. Since mine was cuff down, I got to try it on and measure out the length of the toe that way.

        I’d be really worried about looking after sick dogs too – I’ve already done that once and let me tell you, it is nerve wrecking – even more than sick kids.
        Let me know how those sock books work out! I’m looking for one with different techniques but I’m in no rush because : the knitting.

        Like

  2. Hi! I am sorry to hear about the carpal tunnel syndrome. I recently got diagnosed and it came just before starting full-time studies in knitting. How long have you been suffering? Sounds like it is something that has returned from a previous occasion and that you know what’s best to help it. Resting is not always easy but trying today to do that since we have a free study day on the timetable… Hope your hands/wrists are back in action!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry I just saw this 🙂 I have had it for years along with ulnar problems. I work as an Instructional Designer, so my days are spent on the computer. When you add knitting and every day life computer time in, it flares up. They are definitely back in action. I have been reading about your struggles with it as well. I hope you get to feeling better soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

