Thursday Knit-a-Sock-Along: Week 5

We went on vacation last week to Fort Lauderdale, FL…our first visit since we moved to Northern California in April 2014. I had a 5.5 hour flight there and back and knew I could get some serious knitting in. I brought along the Toe-Up Socks using German Short Rows and Sockhead Hat WIPs in my beautiful new project bags and had no problem getting through TSA with bamboo needles. I was seriously stoked to be sitting in an airport / on a plane knitting the time away.

My best friend’s son, who I consider one of my nephews, was thrilled when I pulled out my project bag and started knitting the day after we arrived. He had tons of questions and loved “helping” me with the yarn ball, doling out the yarn as needed. He was positive I was going to finish the sock by the time I got home and kept telling me what a great job I was doing 🙂

And I did it! I have officially completed my first sock! It’s perfectly imperfect and I love it! It’s so soft and cozy…perfect for chilly winters walking on cold tile. I learned a lot that will help me with my second sock. Particularly to make sure that I have not accidentally created an extra stitch that I then have to decrease, making my stitches look a little wonky.

I decided to stop at 76 rows for the leg section and then started the one inch ribbing for the cuff. I really liked the length at that point and didn’t really want a sock that went almost to my knee. I have to say that the bind off was kind of wonky for me, as I’ve never knit in the back loop or bound off with ribbed knitting; however I was able to do it successfully.

I’ve also started my second sock! No Second Sock Syndrome for me! I was able to use my beautiful new crochet hook from Furls called Odyssey to create the provisional cast on and I am thrilled with the feel and fit of the hook. It makes me want to pull out some of my crochet WIPs and finish them off 🙂 I am through the toe and three rows into the foot. Hopefully this one will go a little faster as I’m only working on one other project at this time.

If you’d like to join myself and my other fearless sock knitters, Hannah and Maggie…cast on and link back to us! I promise, if we can do it…you can too!!!!

Happy Knitting!

Finished first sock!

Finished first sock! I did it! Markers in place to ensure the second sock matches.

Side View

Side View – Flaws and all…I hope the little holes caused by the picking up stitches after the GSR’s block out 🙂 You can also see where I accidentally increased/ then decreased…always on the right side of the foot.

Second Sock - Toe Finished

Second Sock started! Toe and 3 rows of the foot section complete.

5 thoughts on “Thursday Knit-a-Sock-Along: Week 5

      • Yeah, my second one seemed really quick. Which is definitely a good thing! I think it helped a lot that I knew how many rounds I was doing for each section. With the first one I was just trying it on now and then to determine what to do next, but when there’s a finite end to each part it is psychologically easier somehow.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

