FO – Bulky & Quick Large Mouth Bass Blanket

A few weeks ago, one of my very dear friends from high school, tagged me in a photo on Facebook. The Designer, MJ’s Off the Hook Designs, is on Ravelry and also has her own Facebook page. I took one look and knew that the Bulky & Quick Large Mouth Bass Blanket would be a perfect Christmas present for my nephew (best friend’s oldest son) Merrik! He is obsessed with fishing and watching me work with yarn, so this was a win, win. He still plays with the baby blanket I crocheted for him when he was born.

The pattern is not free, but is well written and worth it. Although the pattern stated this would take 2.5-5 hours to make, depending on skill level, it took me more like 14 hours. I have been crocheting since I was 8 years old and consider myself experienced, so I think she must have taken timings after she crocheted this several times. This was literally a weekend project and I still think of it as quick; plus I had a ton of fun making it! Here are my notes on Ravelry, if you’d like to take a look. She also has a Mermaid Tail blanket that I think will be perfect for some adults on my Christmas list…or maybe future birthday lists 🙂

The yarn used was Bernat Soft Boucle in Grey Heather, Bernat Softee Chunky Solids in Forest and Bernat Chunky Solids in Aran. I purchased all the yarn online at Jo-Ann Fabric and Craft Stores. I used a size Q (15.0 mm) hook with two strands held together for the body and mouth of the fish. I used a size N (9.0 mm) hook with one strand for the tail and back fins. The amount of yarn varies depending on the size you make. The pattern has these sizes included: Infant (0-18 months), Preschool, Child and Adult. I made the child version and the blanket/cocoon portion measured at 48″ long. Plenty long enough for him to snuggle in for quite awhile.

I can’t wait to get a picture of him in it! Until next time…

Happy (Crocheting) Knitting!

Blanket Section

Blanket Section

Cocoon Finished

Cocoon Finished

Mouth and Eyes Finished

Mouth and Eyes Finished

Tail Fin and Back Fins

Tail Fin and Back Fins (this is in the color Forest; however photographed as grey)

Completed Large Mouth Bass

Completed Large Mouth Bass

Outside Picture

Close-up Outside Picture to see the true colors

2 thoughts on “FO – Bulky & Quick Large Mouth Bass Blanket

Leave a Reply

