FO – Xavier’s Hat & Santa

I finally got all the Christmas knits for the in-laws mailed off yesterday…more on that once they receive them 🙂 I also signed up for another secret test for a shawlette that I started yesterday. It’s made up of lace and cables and is extremely interesting. I won’t be able to show the finished product until the pattern is out. However, thank goodness for what Santa (aka Hubby) bought me for Christmas!

He asked me to help him out with ideas for Christmas so I put everything on my Wish List, not expecting to get all of it. He surprised me and made my wishes come true 🙂 I am now the proud owner of a Limited Edition 5 inch Sharp HiyaHiya Interchangeable Set. It came with sizes US 2-15 5″ sharp interchangeable tips, 4 cables, cable connectors, tip adapter, panda stoppers, single point adapters, puppy snip, darning needles, knitters safety pins and a gorgeous case for it all! It is definitely helping out with the lace on my current project.

He also got me a very generous gift certificate to Webs, so I can shop to my hearts delight. That is, once I go through some of the yarn I bought myself due to holiday sales 🙂 I also received a knitting book recommended by Josiah from The Sock Monkey. Click the link to read more about Josiah’s review of the book, Fine Things for Plain Occasions. You can pick it up on Amazon if interested. I could go on; however these were the knit related gifts and I’m super happy 🙂

I’ve got two more hats in my grief knitting series. Today, we will take a look at Xavier’s hat. This pattern is available for free on Ravelry and was super easy. I loved working with the yarn as it was extremely soft and had a nice drape once completed. It should also keep his little head warm during the chilly winter. I would highly recommend both the pattern and the yarn. I hope I get a picture of Xavier in it soon!

Ravelled Here: Bulky Waffle Hat

Started and Finished 10/30/15

Needles: US 10 – 6.0 mm 16 inch circulars and DPNs

Yarn: Berroco Comfort Chunky in the color Lagoon

Made For: Grandnephew Xavier (my niece Kayla’s middle child)

If I don’t see you until after, Happy New Year!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

IMG_0028

Bulky Waffle Hat for Xavier

 

5 thoughts on “FO – Xavier’s Hat & Santa

Leave a Reply

