FO – Ashley’s Hat and 2015 Year in Review

Hi All and Happy New Year! I’m taking a moment to look back on 2015 and the progress I’ve made. I’ve been a crocheter since I was a child; however really took a long time on projects…mostly baby blankets and lapghans. I started knitting in February of this year and am totally gobsmacked by how much I’ve accomplished! Here’s the rundown of how the projects I’ve completed this year:

Crochet: 4 blankets / afghans of varying sizes

Knitting: 1 Scarf, 1 Dishcloth, 3 Ear Warmers, 25 Hats, 5 Cowls, 1 Pair of Socks, 1 Sweater Christmas Ornament, and 5 Shawls (4 of them lace)

I’ve learned a lot and cannot wait to learn more. I’m no longer afraid of dropping stitches, missing stitches and knitting socks. I know I can do it all if I take it one stitch at a time!  My yarn stash is ever growing and I learned which needles suit me the best. I now have three sets of interchangeable needles, as well as every size in the 16 inch bamboos and DPN’s. I can put a hank on a swift and use a ball winder to wind up into a cake without getting the yarn all tangled up. Thank goodness for youtube videos and my knitting group 🙂 All in all, it was a very productive year. I love knitting and can’t wait to see what I make in 2016!

My last and final hat for my grief knitting series is the one I started with. I made this for my sister’s birthday the day before she passed away. I gifted it to my oldest niece, Ashley. I learned how to knit cables and have put my new skills to good use with another hat and a shawlette I’m currently working on.

Ravelled Here: Cabled Hat #L32325

Started and Finished 10/24/15

Needles: US 13 – 9.0 mm 16 inch circulars and DPNs

Yarn: Loops & Threads Charisma in the color Dark Purple

Made For: Originally my sister Veronica; now my oldest niece Ashley

Happy New Year to all my blogging friends! Let make 2016 another awesome year!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

10 thoughts on “FO – Ashley’s Hat and 2015 Year in Review

Leave a Reply

