Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

It’s Thursday, so it’s all about the socks! Last week I talked about my current sock project. I actually finished them on Sunday 🙂 I haven’t been able to start another pair (or get back to my WIP pair) as all of my knitting time has been dedicated to my test project. It’s going sooooooo slow and may be known as the Shawlette of Forever! It takes so much concentration and that has been something my brain has been sorely lacking for the last few weeks.

Here are the details on my comfy, cozy socks…

Ravelled Here: Quick Socks

Started and Finished: 1/4/2016-1/10/2016 (This should have been way faster but had a few hiccups!)

Yarn Used: Berroco Comfort Chunky in the color Lagoon

Needle Size: US10 – 6.0mm DPNs

Last week I talked about how with the first sock, I bound off and weaved in the ends and then found out it was too tight of a bind off. I was so sad when it wouldn’t go over my foot! However, I learned how to unbind off my work and then went with a known stretchy bind off (JSSBO) in rib pattern to finish up. So woo hoo for learning something new!

Since I had to redo the bind off for the first sock, I ran out of yarn with 8 stitches left in the bind off for the second sock 😦 Eek!

IMG_0585

Thank goodness I had also knit a toddler hat (Bulky Waffle Hat) from this same yarn and had left overs from that skein. After I completed the bind off, I weighed both socks and they came out to 98 grams. That means one ball of yarn should have been plenty to finish both socks. All in all, these were very easy and I noted all my edits to the pattern in my Ravelry notes. They are super comfortable and warm…just what I need for cold nights and mornings!

With my next pair of newly cast on socks (I’m already past the heel on my first Hermione sock), I’m going to try the Fish Lips Kiss Heel that everyone has been talking about. The pattern is only $1.00 and I’ve heard that it’s the bomb diggity! I want to see if this will make a difference with those pesky little holes that seem to turn up in bulky socks on the heel.

I’m not sure if my fellow sock knitters are back on the Thursday Sock Knit-A-Long schedule as of yet; however if you want to join us in knitting socks link up and check out what Maggie, Hannah and Alex are doing over on their blogs!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

9 thoughts on “Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

      • Lol, thanks, I do really miss Sock Thrs and I was light weight hoping I could do a pair/month this year… Maybe if I hustle in September I can make this month up with two socks…

        The further I get into this scarf adventure, the more my wife says “that sounds like a blog post in the making” 🙂 I finally got the yarn today and should be posting some test swatches soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. These socks are great Paula! I really want to finish my socks so I can move onto a chunky pair. I want to make a pair like yours for a friend, but am really wanting to finish my own first. Ahh, what a dilemma! I plan for this Thursday to be a sock day! Really take note on the word plan. (I may forget.) x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Woo hoo! I’m hoping to make tomorrow a sock day too 🙂 I don’t have much progress due to some recent ulnar nerve issues, thus no blog posts. I might try to get a post up soon about my new goodies since I haven’t been doing a lot of knitting. It’s been two and a half weeks and I just started back slowly yesterday.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

