Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

Hello blogging world and friends! Have you been wondering where my posts have been lately? Before I get into my socks, here’s the story.

I finally finished my never ending Cables and Lace Shawlette Test project. Towards the end I started feeling a lot of pain in my wrist and elbow on the right hand side. My pinky finger was totally numb and my ring finger was half numb. Some days I could barely bend my hand and had difficulty holding onto a glass or opening a passenger side car door. I soldiered on because I knew I had a deadline (stupid me should have just let the designer know); however had to stop knitting for 2 1/2 weeks after that to rest and heal.

My real life job consists of being on the computer all day, so I restricted all personal computer use and knitting. I also bought a wrist brace and elbow brace to wear at night to stop my arm from curling up during sleep, as well as alternating heat and ice. It’s a condition I dealt with a long time ago, so I knew exactly what I needed to do. It’s called Cubital Tunnel Syndrome and deals with the ulnar nerve. Sort of like Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, but on the other side of the hand. I’ve also been doing the exercises I was given at that time to stretch the ulnar nerve and help it heal. It’s slowly getting better and it was driving me crazy not to knit, so I’ve started back slowly.

I haven’t done too much on my socks because of the teeny, tiny needles; however I have made some progress! When last we spoke of my Hermione’s Everyday Socks, I was 4 pattern repeats (of 4 rows) into the instep. When I started it again, I picked up where I left off, not realizing I had forgotten to mark a row on the pattern 😦 I got to 10 pattern repeats before I realized that something was wrong. D’oh! I had to tink back all 40 rows and start that section again. I’m now back to 10 pattern repeats and almost to the toe.

Another question I had in my last point dealt with knowing when to stop the pattern repeats and start the toe decreases. I did a little research and found out that the toe decreases actually add about 2 inches. So with me, I will need to stop the pattern repeats right around the mark where my big toe starts.

So, that’s where I am with my sock! How about you? Anything good on your needles lately?

I’m still not sure if my fellow sock knitters are back on the Thursday Sock Knit-A-Long schedule as of yet; however if you want to join us in knitting socks, link up and check out what Maggie, Hannah and Alex are doing over on their blogs!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

PS…the next sock post really will be all about the socks 🙂 You can click on the images below to make them bigger.

11 thoughts on “Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

  1. I love your yarn, it really compliments the stitch pattern. I own a beautiful red pair of Hermoine Socks, but have to confess that a friend knitted them for me. They’re one of the warmest pairs of knitted socks I own, so I really should knit a pair or two for myself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

