Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

Hello All! It’s Thursday and that means it’s time to talk about the socks 🙂 I had a very busy two days with work and knitting when I could. My husband and I needed a little getaway so we left yesterday for Santa Cruz, CA. We’ll be taking a long weekend to relax and explore and I hope to get some knitting time too. Let’s get down to the sock talk.

Last week, I talked about my Super Quick Baby Socks (link here in case you missed that post!) And I finished them! Did you have any doubt? These things are so cute and little. I hope they will fit a newborn; however he will also have a little room to grow. I love that they can be worn cuff up or rolled down. Here’s the down and dirty.

Ravelled Here: Super Quick Baby Socks

Needles Used: Size US7 – 4.5mm DPNs

Yarn Used: Bernat Softee Baby in the color Flannel

 

In addition, I started a new pair of socks! I wanted to try toe up again and the only ones I’ve knit so far were worsted weight using German Short Rows (GSR). I wanted to try some more traditional methods, such as Judy’s Magic Cast On (total fail four times), Turkish Cast On (another fail; however closer to what I wanted), and the Figure Eight Cast On (success!). All of the fails looked good until I started the increase rows and then there were big holes in the socks. At least I learned which method works for me for now.

I’m knitting Amy’s Favorite Toe-Up Socks pattern, which is a paid for pattern on Ravelry. I also decided to do them Two at a Time (TAAT). I haven’t gotten very far because of all the fails on the cast on methods; however they are starting to look like a toe. I originally was going to use the Knit Picks Felici in the color Wizard that I used for my last pair of failed socks; however they just didn’t want to be this sock. Instead I am using Madelinetosh Sock in the color Baltic. I’m also using a larger size needle (size US 2 – 2.75mm) than the pattern calls for and using two 24 inch circular needles and knitting from the same ball of yarn. I’m using the outside for one sock and the inside for the other. 

Go check out what my good friends Hannah at unsophisticated+jejune and Alex at alexand knits and see how they are doing with their sock projects! If you’d like to link up with our Thursday sock party, just let one of us know!


Until next time, Happy Knitting!

11 thoughts on “Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

    • OMG! I cannot even imagine 12 cats in socks…well, I guess I could Imagine it. That would be too funny! You can still knit baby stuff! There are lots of organizations who take donations 🙂 Plus they are so quick and satisfying! I love the yarn!!! It’s so soft and such a beautiful color!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

