Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

Hey All! You know what day it is? Of course, you do. It’s Thursday and it’s all about the socks! I haven’t made a huge amount of progress this week; however some progress has been made. In case you missed it, here’s the last post on my socks, so you can see how far I’ve come. It’s hard to believe that last week I was sitting on a balcony in Santa Cruz, listening to the waves crash, drinking a cup of hot tea and working on my socks.

IMG_1322

This week, I’m back at work and dreaming of two weeks from this coming Saturday when we go to Hawaii for the first time. What? Yes, we are going to Maui, HI! And I can’t wait!!! We’ve booked a condo on the beach and have a lanai…yep, I’m definitely taking along my knitting and can’t wait to relax on the beach again!

Why haven’t I made much progress on my socks? Test knitting. Yep, I have been working furiously on a test knit shawl. It’s going to be big and gorgeous; however it’s a lot of stitches right now. I’m 13 rows away from the edging and I’m up to 301 stitches. Each row increases by four stitches, and the edging is 32 rows…so you can guess where this is going. A lot of stitches! The colorways are gorgeous and I can’t wait to show it off.

Back to the socks. When I last posted, the socks barely fit over my toenails. I’ve completed the toe increases and am on my way into the foot. Yay! I am working on Amy’s Favorite Toe-Up Socks and so far it is an easy pattern. I am kind of concerned, working them TAAT, because the Gusset and Turning of the Heel are both done with short rows. I’m not sure how I will accomplish that part; however I can always take one sock off like I did the last time and work them one at a time until I get past the heel. I’m also a little wary that I may have chosen too large of a needle size. I’m using a US 2 – 2.75mm and the socks seem to be slightly large. I’m going to wait until I’m a little further up the foot to see if I should rip back and continue on with smaller needles. I’m still learning about socks and testing how they fit my feet, so it’s a work in progress. And I’m fine with that.

So, that’s pretty much it for this week. If you want to see what my fellow sock knitting buddies are doing, check out Hannah at unsophisticated+jejune and Alex at alexand knits! They’ve been rocking their socks too!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

IMG_1331

6 thoughts on “Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

  1. Oooh looking good. You will have nice warm toes 🙂 That shawl you’re working on sounds insane, and quite large! How exciting that you’re going to Hawaii – I’m sure you will have a brilliant time. In the 1940s book that I am using to knit my socks from there is a bikini pattern, would you be interested? I can fax it over, if you wish 🙂 Not your style? Fair enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL…I’ve been getting some comments on my FB page that my socks currently look like the beginnings of a bikini top 😀 Definitely not my style 🙂 I’m really looking forward to going to Hawaii. It will be the first time going for both of us and we are very excited to be going on an actual vacation! It’s been awhile for us.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

