Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

Hi All,

Yep, it’s Thursday again! How can that be? This last week has been so busy with work that I’ve barely gotten in any knitting. I did, however, start my next pair of socks! My sock knitting buddy, Alex, had mentioned in one of her posts that she was gifted the Smooth Operator Socks by Susan B. Anderson. I liked the looks of them, so I went ahead and purchased the pattern. I’ve been saving the yarn I’m using for awhile now and when I saw this pattern, I knew they wanted to be these socks. I spent Saturday finishing up Hugo the Couch Potato Monster and then cast on Sunday for the socks.

I was able to complete the cast on (I had to do this multiple times because I kept messing it up) and the cuffs on Sunday. Since then, I’ve managed to eek out a measly 10 rows. However, I am working them TAAT using the Magic Loop method…so that really means I’ve accomplished two cuffs plus 20 rows of the leg. The yarn I am using was created by String Theory Colorworks, in the Inertia self striping base and the color is called Putnisite. I don’t know if you’ve ever googled Putnisite; however this is dead on for the colorway. Here’s the description from the website:

Putnisite is an Isomer colorway.  When you order an Isomer colorway, you will get 2 50g skeins of self striping yarn that coordinate, but DO NOT MATCH.  All the colors in each skein will be repeated, but will stripe in a different order or width on each half.

Stripe Pattern:

7 rows Violet                                         10 rows Teal
3 rows Teal                                            3 rows Violet

 

One thing that I love about this yarn is that I’m always working on a different color and there is no chance of accidentally knitting from the same ball of yarn. I have tried them on and they go over my heel (no pics because you just don’t want to see my legs right now)…so no rookie mistakes for me this time. Look how beautiful these are working up! I’m in love with them already and can’t wait for the finished socks.

IMG_1784

Cuffs Complete

IMG_1803

Ten rows into the Leg

If you feel so inclined, and wish to join up with our Thursday Sock Along, let one of us know in the comments. We also have a hashtag on Instagram #ThursdaySockAlong

Alex – alexand knits

Hannah – unsophisticated+jejune

Jennifer – a creative yarn

Katherine – Fiber and Sustenance

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

16 thoughts on “Thursday: It’s All About the Socks

  1. I will have to check out that yarn. I love how it comes out not so matchy matchy. It’s one’s prerogative to want identical twin socks but I so roll my eyes at that and buck that. I totally dig this purple and green, two of my favorite colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Knit Potion says:

    These are going to be awesome!! I absolutely love String Theory Colorworks yarn. I did the sock club in 2015 and had a blast with it. When I saw that she’d come up with the Isomer colorway, I immediately ordered Ytterbium. Haven’t knit it up yet, but I look at it a lot. 😉 I’m going to join you with the Smooth Operator KAL, but I’m planning to use a skien I’ve ordered from HDYarns for that. Can’t wait to see how your pair progresses!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

