Thursday: It’s NOT All About the Socks

Hi All! Another Thursday has rolled around and as you can see by my blog post title, today is NOT all about the socks. I’ve gotten a measly three rows finished since last week, as you can see from my progress keeper. Just a reminder that this is the Smooth Operator Socks by Susan B Anderson.

What happened? Well, I was planning on knitting more; however after all the sock knitting of the week before and not switching to another project, my cubital tunnel syndrome started kicking in again. I thought I could fight through it and cast on a new pattern Friday of last week. It’s for the Olympic Knitathon that is being hosted by Andrea at This Knitted Life. I recently purchased some yarn from Miss Babs called Yowza – Whatta Skein, in a light worsted weight, and was dyeing (pun intended) to knit with it. The color is called Beachglass and is so soothing and beautiful to look at and touch. Look at this yarn baby! It’s humongous! I wanted to cuddle it and snuggle it and keep it with me all the time.

IMG_1912

The pattern I chose is Trillian by Martina Behm. I did fantastic on Friday and knit 50 rows of the pattern. Did I tell you how squishy and mushy and just delightful this yarn is? Oh, yes! It’s a dream to work with. And the pattern itself is super easy. Just what I needed to be able to knit and watch the Olympics.

IMG_1918

Saturday was a bust because I realized that I had forgotten to do one of the increases four rows back (out of the four rows I knit on Saturday) and it was super noticeable. So, I tinked back and put it down for the day. Plus, we went to pick up our wine shipments at three different wineries, did some wine tasting and then shared a bottle of wine with some sushi. Who can knit after all that?

IMG_1919

Sunday was a little more productive and I got to 90 rows completed! Oh, that lovely yarn. Don’t you want to just cuddle up with it? If you’ve never tried it, you must!

IMG_1921

And then I woke up Monday morning, with pain shooting up my arm and numb pinkie / ring fingers on my right hand. And I had to work on a computer all day. I haven’t been able to knit a single stitch since that time 😦 So, although I wanted to knit on my socks and my shawl, nothing is happening until I heal. And that is my story for this past week folks. How was your week?

If you feel so inclined, and wish to join up with our Thursday Sock Along, let one of us know in the comments. See below for my fellow Thursday Sock Knitters! We also have a hashtag on Instagram #ThursdaySockAlong.

Alex – alexandknits (currently on break, but will be back soon!)

Hannah – unsophisticated+jejune

Jennifer – a creative yarn

Katherine – Fiber and Sustenance

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

15 thoughts on “Thursday: It’s NOT All About the Socks

  1. Wow, I love your Olympics shawl! That yarn is gorgeous, as is your knitting! And the socks are still looking fabulous! Every time I see that yarn, I just love it!

    I hope you’re feeling 100% soon! But good for you for listening to your body and taking a break until you’re healed!

    That picture of wine and sushi is totally making me drool. Now I really want some sushi! “Who can knit after all that” — that really cracked me up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Totally true, right? I absolutely love that wine and it’s perfect for a warm Summer day 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes. I hate missing out on my knitting and my knitting group; however don’t want to be out for three to four weeks like I was earlier this year. I cannot wait to get back to it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Three rows absolutely counts as progress! I’m a firm believer that breaks are important and that those breaks should most definitely involve wine – it’s good for your health and means your hands can rest a bit. Please feel better soon, the yarn will wait and/or just be happy being cuddled in the mean time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! That’s why I did post what little progress I have made 😀 Knitting is my stress relief and I can’t wait to heal and get back to it. Believe me, the yarn is getting cuddled. If I can’t knit with it, I can at least touch it and love on it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Knit Potion says:

    Isn’t the Miss Babs Yowza amazing?! I LOVE it!! I bet your shawl will be one of those things you want to wrap around your shoulders all the time. And look at your project bag! It has fireflies on it!! 🙂

    Hope your hands heal quickly! Do take care of them, though. That’s definitely the best thing for your knitting in the long run.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m chiming in on the Miss Babs & Yowza love – I love her stuff! I took a class about color theory from her at a local(ish) yarn shop and gone to several of her trunk shows there. I hope your forearm, wrist, and hand are feeling better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

