30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 2

Hi All!

It’s Day 2 of the challenge and I’m ready for this one!

What is currently on your needles?

As you all know, I am not currently knitting anything because of my cubital tunnel syndrome; however here are the projects that I was working on before and will pick up again the second I am able to knit again.

The Sockhead Slouch Hat by Kelly McClure (Free on Ravelry)

This baby has been on my needles the longest (since July 31, 2015) simply because it is a take along project and lives in my SUV. It’s one of those projects that you don’t need to keep count (after you cast on) and can stop and start whenever. I’ve knit this while standing in line for a concert, at doctor / dentist offices, at wineries, on planes, as a passenger riding in the car…you name a place where you can knit on something mindless and this hat has probably been there. I would actually like to finish it before I make my annual trip to Indiana for Thanksgiving as it is a gift for my cousin and she has been waiting a looooong time for it. The hat is 10 inches long and the pattern calls for it to be 13 inches before you start the decreases so I’m almost there. That should give me plenty of time!

Sockhead

Almost ready for the second skein!

Trillian by Martina Behm (Paid for pattern on Ravelry)

My next project was started the day of the Olympics (August 5, 2016) and was supposed to be finished between opening and closing ceremonies. I cast on with a dear knitter friend who is in the Meetup Knitting Group I go to every Thursday afternoon. Hers turned out stunning! Although you may not recognize the name of this pattern, this designer also created the Hitchhiker, and this shawl is part of a Trilogy with four patterns. That doesn’t make sense to me; however I haven’t read the book (yet) and don’t know if that’s some sort of reference that others may know about. The Hitchhiker has been in my queue far longer than this pattern; however I couldn’t resist knitting along side my friend and since I purchased the whole set, there was no expense involved…except for yarn.

IMG_1967

Lovely, squishy garter stitch in Miss Babs Yowza…yummy!

Smooth Operator Socks by Susan B Anderson (Paid for pattern on Ravelry)

And last, but not least, my Smooth Operator Socks by Susan B Anderson. I started these as part of the #sosKAL on July 10th and was happily knitting along with some of my blogging friends and Thursday Sock buddies when the disaster known as my cubital tunnel syndrome kicked in. I should have known better than to just work on teeny, tiny needles for a whole week with no other project to take a break. I did make a lot of progress ; however I am paying the price for it now. I still love them and can’t wait to get back to them…I just won’t be knitting solely on them ever again. Lesson learned!

IMG_1925

Love, love, love the stripes!

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs at Knitting in Wonderland.

I’ll be back tomorrow with the next question. Until next time, Happy Knitting!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 2

  1. OMG you are so close with the hat! That has to be maddening. You’ll get there soon though and that is going to feel good instantly! Changing up needle sizes is a seriously good call! I remember how stressed out my hands felt just working on zeros for two days without a lot of breaks so I’m working that into my knitting routine.

    I had no idea that pattern was referring to the Hitchhiker world! I have been watching the old school TV show, recently rented the movie and I am going to study up on the book next week in preparation for a friend’s birthday party. They’re pretty serious fan people and knowing them, in addition to cosplay there’s going to be trivia stuff and games that might not make a lot of sense to those of us that are uninitiated. All I know, is that I need to hold on to my towel at all times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. See, I didn’t even know about the towel! I have the book on my Kindle. I just need to get around to reading it. I didn’t even know there was a tv show or a movie…see how out of the loop I am? That sounds like a really fun party idea though!

    I am so ready to have the Sock Head hat finished and get started on my next one. I was so sure I was going to finish it on my trip to Hawaii in May that I caked up another skein of sock yarn and brought it with me to start a new one. Can you say “overly optimistic”? LOL…Then again, I did have a HUGE shawl with lots of lovely fringe that I did get done on that trip.

    I’m on vacation for the next week and I hope and pray that I can start knitting again. I told my husband that I almost wanted to cancel vacation because I haven’t been able to knit. He said that was the stupidest thing he’d ever heard because I will probably heal faster with not being on the computer / keyboard at work for so long every day. I think he was right, but don’t let him hear I said that 😀

    Like

  3. What a great line-up of projects to go back to! I think I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again: I really admire you for taking a step back while dealing with pain. I know it hasn’t been easy and you really didn’t have a choice, but you’re coping with it extraordinarily well. Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

