30 Day Knitting Challenge – Days 7 & 8

I actually made it 48 hours without being on the computer. Let me tell you…it really helped a lot! I went and got a pedicure on Tuesday and relaxed the rest of the day; catching up on some shows on my DVR. Yesterday my husband and I went on an afternoon date to see Star Trek Beyond and grab a bite to eat. It was his last day of vacation and we wanted to do something outside of the house. The movie was great but the company was even better.

Day 7’s question piggy-backed off of day 6 and asks:

Your least favorite? (as in your least favorite project you’ve knit)

Melinda Cloth by Norma Wampler

I think if I were to knit this again, it might be enjoyable. I was only a couple of months into knitting and wanted something that was quick and easy…instant knitting gratification. The only reason why I did not enjoy knitting this was because of the yarn. It was my first time knitting with 100% cotton and I decided at that point that I would never knit with it again. It hurt my hands. Or so I thought. Now I know that I probably had too tight of a gauge and that was what was causing my hands to cramp up. I am happy to report that I am knitting with cotton again and may even attempt this pattern again at some point.

img_8091_medium2

Peaches & Creme Solids in the color Orchid

Day 8: What’s your most challenging project?

Stepping Stones Kit by Iris Schreier

If you click on that link, you will see copious notes on my Ravelry page for this project. I don’t know why I thought I was ready for short rows and lace just a few months into my knitting journey…I was being brave and adventurous, I guess. I frogged so many times that I think I could have made three of these shawls in that amount of time now. Just reading back through them makes me shudder. I still have the shawl and have only worn it a couple of times. Maybe it needs to go in my gift pile? Or maybe I should keep it for the memories? I do remember it was the first time I was ever featured as a photo on a project page and that made it really special to me and worth all the hard work.

I blogged about the project here and here.

img_9048_medium2

I had a request by Bekki from The Dartmoor Yarn Company to show my 3 Color Cashmere Cowl worn properly instead of pulled up as a tube over my head (as shown in Day 6 of the blogging challenge, so here’s your pic Bekki!

img_0862_medium2

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs at Knitting in Wonderland.

And since Thursdays are usually about the socks, here’s my list of fellow sock knitters. I desperately hope to be rejoining them soon!

Check out Maggie at Project(s) in Progress and Katherine at fiber and sustenance and see what they are up to this week!

Also on our Thursday Sock Buddy list, however away on break are:

Alex – alexandknits

Hannah – unsophisticated+jejune

Jennifer – a creative yarn

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

 

 

2 thoughts on “30 Day Knitting Challenge – Days 7 & 8

Leave a Reply

