30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 12

Where do you keep your stash? Post pictures!

Okay…this is going to be embarrassing. Some of you might remember when I did a blog post about reorganizing my stash in January 2016 and getting it out of my closet so I could see it. If not, here’s the post. Take a look at it because it doesn’t look anything like that now. At that point, I had a measly (cough, cough) 147 different types of yarn stored in my Ravelry library (with some skeins still hiding out) and I was able to store everything neatly.

I’m supposed to be on a yarn diet. I’m supposed to be knitting from my stash. This was the year to knit from my stash! Now, I’m at 249 (I was at 250; however gifted a skein…yay me!) skeins. No wonder I am feeling so overwhelmed! I think it’s time to do a reorganization again and figure out a better solution.

I think most knitters (except for my friends that are minimalists) can relate to this and I know my stash is not as large as others that I’ve seen. You see all the pretties and you buy them, but you only buy one skein…and then what do you do when you want to knit a sweater or a poncho or anything that requires more than one skein? You buy more yarn!

So, where do I keep my stash? Every little nook and cranny that I can find right now. Mostly in the corner of my office / craft room.

img_2025

Here’s the overall picture…see, it takes up the whole corner of my office / craft room!

Here’s a close up of each of the sections. And if you’d really like to see what I’ve got…check out my Ravelry Stash.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Send help please! I need some organization ๐Ÿ™‚ Or, maybe…just maybe…I need to stop buying yarn and knit from the stash. Thatย is going to be my mantra for the rest of the year. I hope. I’ll try. Maybe…Oh look! Another pretty!

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs atย Knitting in Wonderland.

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

13 thoughts on “30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 12

  1. Nope, the minimalists – or at least this minimalist in particular – have trouble resisting yarn too, especially when it’s on sale!

    But I’ve switched things up in my brain and technically, I’m not buying yarn anymore: I’m buying a socks or a cowl etc. And that gives me a bit of pause or at least a “Alright girly, if you give up afternoon tea for five years, you might be able to squeeze another project in” kind of reality check.

    I’d be happy to help you get organized! I won’t even make you get rid of anything ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know I was thinking of you when I said my minimalist friends ๐Ÿ˜€

      Oh! That’s an awesome way to think about it! So, I just need to knit from the stash and then once that’s finished (although it may take me several years), then I can buy for specific projects ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll see if I can make that work for me.

      I would take you up on that offer. Come on down when your leg gets better ๐Ÿ˜€

      I am seriously on a yarn diet right now (except for my Yarnbox Sock club…and I’m thinking of suspending that too) until I get my condo rented out in FL. Once it’s rented again, we shall see!

      Liked by 1 person

      • LOL! I absolutely knew that you probably meant me there ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I don’t think you have to wait to start thinking of it that way. When we’re sorting stuff out, we can do it by inspiration: “Oh this skein is socks, it has to be!” Once skeins have a purpose, you’ve got a To Do list and that’ll slow your purchasing a bit. I just had an epic organization binge and I’ve grouped my yarn by weight, so even if one skein/cake doesn’t have a purpose, seeing them together inspires me to combine them as a project. Well when I say that, I really am only talking about two small cakes that miraculously were not yet ear-marked for a project.

        So here’s the plan. When my leg is better, I bring some wine and we do some organizing!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aha! I think I have way too many skeins though to start pairing them all up with projects. I think it would be a humongous job and take way more than one bottle of wine and a day ๐Ÿ™‚ You and your wifey may have to come for an entire weekend ๐Ÿ˜€ Although, since I’m still not knitting, it may be a way for me to enjoy my yarn and Ravelry searching skills. I think I may be inspired!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

