30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 14

What’s the worst yarn/fiber that you’ve worked with and why?

Oh, this is a really easy question! Although I crocheted this project, the yarn was not very nice to work with. It was scratchy, coarse, squeaky and just plain didn’t feel good in my hands. I’m shocked that I made it through an entire blanket with it and promptly gave away the remainder of the yarn when I finished. I don’t know what I was thinking. What is it, you say?

Red Heart Super Saver Multis / Ombres / Prints / Heathers in the colorway Fiesta Jewel. Here were my notes on the very first day I started this project:

“1/19 – The net weight for each skein is 6 oz. The yarn is very scratchy and does not feel good when working with it, although the colors are beautiful. I hope I can finish this project!”

Why did I keep working with it? At the time, I hadn’t started knitting. I didn’t know anything about the yummy, deliciously soft yarn that was out there waiting for me to come discover it. What I did know was yarn that could be purchased at Wal-Mart, Michael’s, Jo-Ann’s and Hobby Lobby. And I know that there are some really soft acrylic yarns made by Red Heart.

I’ve used Red Heart Soft in another crocheted blanket and it’s really soft. I know that Red Heart Super Savers has come a long way since I first purchased these skeins…it was a really long time ago, so I don’t want to diss on anyone that knits / crochets with it and likes it. It does serve its purpose.

The pattern I crocheted was the Corner-to-Corner Throw by Catherine J Watson. I tried softening the finished blanket using different techniques I’ve found online. It’s still not soft enough to use and sits in a bag waiting for me to decide what to do with it. Do I continue to wash it over and over, hoping it will soften up after multiple washes? Or do I just donate it to Goodwill and be done with it? What would you do?

image_medium2

Scratchy, but really pretty!

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs at Knitting in Wonderland.

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

4 thoughts on “30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 14

  1. Oh, boy – I had a blanket made of similar yarn that a friend gave to me. Her grandmother crocheted it, and I did everything possible to soften it with no luck. I finally (after at least 10 years of carting it around with me) sent it back to my friend, who was thrilled to pieces to have it back – her grandmother had died and this was one of the few things she had that her grandmother had made. I would give the blanket away; someone will love it and be kept warm by it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never know what to do with projects like this … I have lots of stuff I’ve knit (mostly in the sweater and accessory category) that I just don’t use … either I chose the wrong yarn for the project, I made mistakes that are hard to live with, or for whatever reason they just don’t get worn, and I never know what to do with them! I have a hard time parting with things I’ve knit! But keeping them — the space they take up, moving them to and fro new places — seems silly!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

