30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 15

What was your least favorite pattern and why?

I don’t know if it’s fair to blame the pattern on this, because it’s not the pattern’s fault. The pattern is actually written very well. This was a case of the yarn not falling in with the pattern, along with the deadly combination of having a severe cold. That’s what made it my least favorite pattern that I’ve worked on.

Shelves Upon Shelves by Erica Lueder (designer of Hermione’s Everyday Socks)

I wanted to join in for a Harry Potter KAL and chose the Wizard colorway of Knit Picks Felici. This is not a super stretchy sock yarn. Take that into account with a slip stitch with yarn in front pattern, and you’ll see why it was not the perfect match. This pattern really, really needs a super stretchy yarn.

This was my first time working on TAAT socks and they were moving very quickly. I really loved the pattern itself and the construction. Silly me did not try the socks on while I was working on them. Last time I did that! Looking back over others notes on Ravelry, I should have known. I think this could be an edit to the pattern…when you are working on a slip stitch with yarn in front pattern, use a super stretchy yarn! Erica did note that you should be very careful to keep your yarn that goes over the slip stitches loose. Here’s a pic of how far I got before I tried them on and found out they didn’t fit.

IMG_1104

Heel and Gusset Complete

I tried them on several different people. They didn’t fit. I cried just a little…then frogged them. As I frogged them, I kept trying them on. I got all the way back to the ribbed cuff before they would finally go over my heel. So much wasted knitting time! Lesson learned…always try on your socks while knitting.

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs at Knitting in Wonderland.

Thursdays are usually all about the socks…and yay! My 30 day challenge question of the day happened to be about socks! Go check out what my fellow Thursday sock knitters are up to!

Still Active

Check out Maggie at Project(s) in Progress and Katherine at fiber and sustenance and see what they are up to this week!

On Break

Alex – alexandknits

Hannah – unsophisticated+jejune

Jennifer – a creative yarn

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

4 thoughts on “30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 15

  1. “Looking back over the notes on Ravelry, I should have known.” I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said this! I’m almost always disappointed with my results when I skip reading other people’s project notes. What did you end up making with the yarn, or is it still waiting in your stash?

    Liked by 1 person

    • At least it taught me some lessons 🙂 Although, most of my projects do. The yarn is sitting in my stash trying to decide what it wants to be. I don’t think it wants to be socks and I’m not sure what else to do with it at this point. I need to go hunting on Ravelry 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

