30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 17

Have you ever had a project that you loved become ruined? What’s the story behind it?

I haven’t had a project that I loved, however my Mom loved it. This was right before I started knitting. I started a granny square crochet blanket…one of those that you just keep knitting the granny square until it’s as big as you want. I thought it would make an awesome lap blanket for her as she always got chilly in the nursing home. I used to visit my Mom every Thanksgiving week and as she really couldn’t go out anymore, I spent hours every day in a nursing home. She slept a lot, so I needed something to do to fill my time.

I finished it on January 31, 2014 and mailed it off to her with instructions to the nursing home staff to please not wash it. I knew that they washed everything (no matter what the tags said) in super hot water. Even though this was a machine washable blanket, it would not stand up to super hot water and the extreme agitation of the industrial washing machines. My Aunt Karen would pick up things occasionally and wash them for my Mom, and this blanket needed to be one of those things.

I didn’t think anything more of it until I was cleaning out my Mom’s room a few days after she passed away. There was the blanket, felted as all get out…not even looking like it did when I mailed it off to her. It made me sad. I can’t remember if my sister Veronica or my Aunt Karen took the blanket…or maybe it was one of my nieces. I just know that I didn’t want to set eyes on it again.

mom_afghan_4_medium2

Granny Square Blanket before felting.

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs at Knitting in Wonderland.

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

4 thoughts on “30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 17

  1. I would be really upset about that since it was so sentimental. It was beautiful blanket!

    As for my own story, it involves my own stupidity, which was the most upsetting part. It was a sweater design I’d worked on for a long time, very complicated. So complicated that I paid a few hundred dollars to have a tech editor do the pattern grading and proofing. Because I’d been working on it for so long and had it hanging on a mannequin, it was a little stretched out. Cue Elizabeth being stupid: I threw it in the washer to just SLIGHTLY felt it. (Backstory is I had felted a purse on purpose that took me HOURS to felt.) I assumed that if my previous felting project had taken me 4 hours to felt, that 5 minutes wouldn’t be noticeable, but would be just enough to shrink it a bit and make it fit as intended. You can guess what happened. I’ve never been so upset with myself. Take it from me, all yarns do NOT felt the same! Lesson learned…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness! I would be devastated! I accidentally did that with one of my husband’s wool sweaters. When it came out of the dryer, it fit a kid instead of a grown man. That taught me to always look at labels when washing clothing I’m not familiar with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

