30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 29

Do you have any tips, or things that you’ve learned from knitting?

I’ve learned that knitting relaxes me and puts me into a meditative state. So much so that I knit for a really long time before realizing that I haven’t taken a break. I can’t keep doing that or I’ll end up taking a forever knitting break instead of several weeks. I used to be stressed all the time and took Xanax to relieve my anxiety. Knitting has become my Xanax and I’m excited to let you know that I am slowly back to knitting again. I even have an FO to share once my challenge is over.

Knitting makes it easier to find friends. I really enjoy my Thursday Knitting Meetup Group and although it has taken awhile, I think I might actually be meeting with some people “after hours”.  Plus if you knit in public, people are going to talk to you. For someone that works virtually and doesn’t get much contact with the outside world, this is a very nice side effect.

I’ve learned that if one method doesn’t work for you, try another! For example, on my first shawl project with wrap & turns (W&T), I was extremely frustrated with the holes it left in my work…plus I kept getting my counts screwed up. I researched different ways to do W&T’s and now the German Short Row is my favorite. The video I linked will show you how to substitute a regular W&T in a pattern.

I’ve learned that YouTube is a fantastic resource for anything you want to know about knitting. I’ve learned how to knit, purl, increase, decrease, read a pattern, to fix mistakes and so on and so on. Everything I’ve learned about knitting has come through YouTube. Anytime I have a question about knitting, I go to YouTube to see if there is a video. KnittingHelp.com is also a fantastic resource if you can’t find what you are looking for in video format.

As I’ve gotten more experienced with knitting, I’ve realized that making socks or a sweater or knitting with more than one color or any pattern that I see and love is not impossible. I used to think I would only knit scarves and hats. Little did I know the world that would open up to me once I learned how to read a pattern. Things that might not make sense will happen if you just follow your pattern…or not. I know some who like to live dangerously 😀

Knitting has also brought me closer to the blogging community. It’s given my blog a focus. I love getting emails telling me that some of my favorite bloggers have a new post up and I also love reading about their adventures. I’ve formed real attachments with people and feel like I’m invested in their stories.

I never knew what would happen to me if I started knitting. Now, I can’t get enough.

12_grande

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs at Knitting in Wonderland.

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

5 thoughts on “30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 29

  1. What a wonderful post!! You’re absolutely right, knitting is such a great way to connect with other people, whether it’s people who want to know what you’re doing or share the love of knitting too! I don’t want your thirty day challenge to be done, but I’m excited to see your FO and so pleased you’ve been able to knit again!

    Also — you’ve found some of the funniest knitting memes! Love today’s picture!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve had a similar experience. A friend taught me to crochet shortly after my father died, and then I taught myself to knit. I was having alot of trouble sleeping, and felt like I just couldn’t escape my own mind. Watching TV and even reading didn’t help, but when I started crocheting, it was the first time in months I was able to focus and involve myself in something rewarding. And of course, I never stopped. Working on projects is still my best method for dealing with stress or just to relax. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so sorry for your loss. Losing a parent is so hard. I didn’t knit when my Mom passed away; however I spent my time crocheting a baby blanket for a brand new arrival. It really does help with stress, relaxation and coping with the feelings of grief.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

