Once Upon a Sock: June Edition

Once Upon a Sock post header 2 jpeg

Hello All!

Can you believe it’s June already? Where the heck did May go? I’m on vacation this week…a staycation; although it has been busy with trips to wineries in Saratoga, as well as Gilroy and Morgan Hill. We had a lovely barbecue with a great friend with some fantastic wine. We also took a trip to Monterey and went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium on Tuesday and had a delicious seafood lunch on Fisherman’s Wharf. When you live in California, every day can be a vacation 🙂

Since it is the first Thursday of the month, it’s all about the socks! Have you guys heard about this craze that’s been going on for several years? You take your sock yarn (or any weight really) scraps and make a blanket out of it. I heard about it a year and a half ago and have been diligently saving my yarn scraps, as well as swapping and buying mini skeins. The pattern I’m following is free and is called The Coziest Memory a recipe for a scrap blanket by Kemper Wray.

This week I decided I have enough yarn to finally start. Well, I probably could have started a long time ago. I just got the gumption to do it this week 🙂 I have one square completed and although I have a pattern and have watched tons of YouTube videos, I’m still trying to determine how to add my next square so it’s centered the same way and I’m working on the “right” side (it’s all garter stitch). I think I have it figured out and will let you know soon! For my first square, I used the yarn from Baby Eric’s socks and I have the next ball wound up and ready to go. I’m using size US 2 (2.75 mm) DPN’s and the first square came out to 2.75 inches squared.

IMG_3975

In addition to the Cozy Memories Blanket, I’ve also been working diligently on my Smooth Operator Socks by Susan B Anderson. I started these on July 10, 2016. Isn’t that crazy? I hope to have them finished by next months post, which will make them a year long project. As my long time readers know, I was sidelined by a hand injury and it took a long time to recover. Luckily, I’m back in the groove, although taking it easy on such tiny needles so I don’t injure myself again.

Guys, we have heels! OMG!!!! Can I tell you how excited I am? I have never worked with afterthought heels before and it was extremely nerve wracking learning this new technique. After knitting 2 inches past the waste yarn, I picked up the stitches on both sides. With the first sock, I picked up the wrong leg on one side of the heel; however that was easily fixed by reorienting the stitches as I was knitting them. Since these are being knit TAAT (Two at a Time), I left the socks on the Magic Loop needles and used my 24 inch size US 1 (2.25 mm) needles to work the heels one at a time. Here’s a little tip for you…when knitting TAAT, place your second ball of yarn inside your second sock to prevent tangles. It worked awesome for me.

After finishing up the heels, I went back to knitting in the round and now I’m 10 rows into the foot. Like I said before, it’s been slow going; however, they are getting there!

IMG_3976

Have you seen my fellow sock enthusiasts posts lately? Why not hop over to their pages and show some love! And if you want to join us, let one of us know, post on the first Thursday of every month with the title “Once Upon a Sock” and link up! We would be happy to have you!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

18 thoughts on “Once Upon a Sock: June Edition

  1. Hoorah, heels!!!! Congrats on your first afterthought heels, they look great! And I am so excited to see your progress on your sock yarn blanket. I’ve made similar plans in the past. I got as far as making one square for a barn raising quilt out of sock yarn … one day I’ll apply myself!

    I’ll have my post up a little later today 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! I can’t wait to see what you have been up to. We’ll see how far I get on this blanket. It’s been a long time because I wasn’t sure if I should plan it or just let it come naturally. I think the ones I’ve loved the most have been the ones that happened organically, so I decided to just start.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Knit Potion says:

    I’m so intrigued that you’re doing the sock yarn blanket and can’t wait to see your progress on it! This seems like a great idea, but since my track record with blankets isn’t the best, I haven’t gotten up the nerve to actually take the plunge. I know seeing yours is going to inspire me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m doing the 10 stitch blanket in both worsted and fingering scraps (2 separate blankets). I love them….awesome for mindless knitting, my biggest decision is what color to do next.

    I never thought to put one of the balls of yarn INTO it’s sock. That is brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very cool! I’m definitely looking forward to the mindless knitting part 🙂 Hopefully I’ll figure out the right way to join the first row soon so I can get started on the second block. It was so much easier putting the ball of yarn into its own sock while working the heels. Otherwise, it kept getting tangled up. I’m so glad the tip will help someone 🙂

      Like

    • Yay for sock yarn! There are so many wonderful patterns out there. Have you ever knit socks? If not, I found that it was really easy to start with a DK weight pair that you just wear around the house versus a pair that you wear with your shoes. I used Very Pink Knits German Short Row socks for my first pair. It really helped me to understand the construction as she has videos that go along with the pattern. Good luck finding your first pair!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, I’ve knitted one pair in DK just before Christmas, the yarn I’ve bought is a drops sock yarn so a bit thinner (4 ply in UK term?). I’m just looking for a perfect pattern to try it with. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh they are totally brilliant – congratulations! Afterthought heels are another sock technique I’ve not tried yet – they’re on the list!

    Good luck on the blanket. I have a LOT of 10/15g ends of sock-yarn skeins and should probably give a blanket a go, but it seems so daunting! I’m v. impressed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I thought they would be really intimidating; however if you know how to pick up stitches (there are YouTube videos that show how!), it’s actually quite a brilliant idea! There are also YouTube videos for the sock yarn blankets 🙂

      Like

  5. Yay on gettin’ them heels in! Your holiday sounds so wonderful. I want to go to Monterey. Do wineries ever gratis champagne or dessert wine? I’m not (LOL! Autocorrect wrote “I’m not awesome donkey.”) a wine drinker.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You would love Monterey! There is so much to see and just a 5-10 minute drive away is a freaking awesome yarn store called Monarch Knitting! You would have to check beforehand with the winery; however if they make a dessert wine or a champagne, it’s usually the last item on a tasting menu. Unfortunately, they don’t really allow you to pick and choose what you taste; however a lot of wineries now have the option of buying a glass instead of a tasting. I can tell you that Fortino Winery in Gilroy has both champagne and dessert wines that are absolutely awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

