Once Upon a Sock – October 2019

Hi Friends!

Do you knit or crochet socks? Do you like to blog about them and share your progress? The first Thursday of every month, my friends and I link up with each other and talk about our socks…the good, the bad, and the ugly. The beauty of a link up party is the ability to jump in and out when you want to share….even if you’ve knit just one row or want to talk about what you’re dreaming of making next. Click the link below to join in, follow the instructions, then link back to my blog so we can all share in the happiness of your gorgeous socks!

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

OnceUponaSockroundedrectangle

I was only able to eek out a few rows on my Rose City Rollers this month. I’m at 1 inch and need to get to 1.5 inches to start the heel. All of my energy is currently being put into the Granny Square Sweater Coat I’m working on. However, the end is near on that and I’m so ready to get back to my own knitting! Uhm…except I also have a baby blanket due for a baby shower at the end of this month! Eek!!!!

Anywho, I figured I would share some sock yarn with you that I’ve recently purchased since I don’t have much sock progress to share. First up, my most recently received purchase is from A Yarn to Dye for Designs. She offered up a 20% off sale for her birthday late last month and I took advantage to get four skeins of this hand speckled, superwash, 75% merino, 25% nylon fingering weight sock yarn. The colorway is Lilacs and Blue Sky. So pretty, right? I don’t know what it wants to be as of yet. I’m thinking a pair of socks, maybe a sockhead slouch hat for one of my friends (or myself), and a shawl or part of a fade shawl. Ideas are percolating. Her packaging is so gorgeous too! I also bought a needle cozy because I loved the fabric so much.

IMG_6400

Yarn Enabler was another one that recently had a sale to wipe out her existing stock at $15.00 CAD plus shipping per skein. I picked up two skeins of Variegated Sock Wool in the colorway Office Babe. I’m so attracted to pastels like this and, again, I have no idea what it wants to be as of yet. I just couldn’t pass by on the sale.

IMG_6366

And isn’t this skein of Hard Core Sock in the colorway Drunken Unicorn from Knitty and Color just gorgeous? These are definitely becoming some Rose City Rollers or maybe even a pair of Hermiones Everyday Socks once I get my current pair finished. And, although it’s not sock yarn, I also got 2 skeins of the Dubstep DK in the colorway Ain’t it Fun. I was inspired by Dana at Yards of Happiness when I saw a sweater she knitted using that colorway. I don’t know if it will be stripes in a sweater, or if I’ll use a solid color for stripes, but these are definitely destined for a sweater with something else.

IMG_6568

I hope you enjoyed a little peek into my recent stash. I’ve definitely bought a lot of yarn this month, so I’ll have more at a later date. Are any of you going to the Lambtown Festival in Dixon, CA this weekend? If so, I’ll be there on Saturday with some of my knitting friends checking it out! Come say “Hi!” if you see me 😀

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve bought some DPNs for the express purpose of making my first socks, so hopefully it won’t be too long before I can join in!
    I love alllll your new squish, especially Ain’t It Fun – looking forward to seeing what it all gets turned into.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh! Good luck with your first pair! My very first pair were done toe up with german short rows with DK weight yarn and size US 3 needles. Very Pink Knits sells the pattern on Ravelry and she has videos that help you learn the “complicated” parts. They go pretty fast due to the DK weight compared to sock yarn 🙂 Have you thought about what will be your first pattern?

      Like

  2. Meg Jones says:

    Look at all that yarn! *heart eyes* I love the ‘aint it fun’ – I know it’s not sock yarn but it’s beautiful. I think the drunken unicorn (lol) would make lovely Hermione’s Everyday socks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I shouldn’t have really bought it, but I could not resist that colorway! I’m leaning towards Hermione’s Everyday socks too 😀

      Like

      1. Meg Jones says:

        They are a very nice pattern, I might knit another pair soon.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.