FO – Honeycomb Baby Blanket

Hi All!

Happy New Year! I know, I know…I’m late to the party. Better late than never though, right? I wanted to share a project I finished almost a month ago with you, and just got around to taking pictures.

I don’t remember if I told you that one of my book club friends was having a baby. Once she announced it to us in July of last year, I immediately cast on for a Honeycomb Throw. I’ve made this one before and the Mama specifically requested the same blanket but in greens. You might remember my Rainbow one?

I knew I wanted to make sure it was machine washable and had originally thought to make it out of cotton. While I was at a big box store, I found a 100% Tencel yarn from Yarn Bee Fresh Haven in the perfect colorways, Ivory and Jade. It was right next to the cotton yarn and super soft.

Little did I know that I would then spend several months completing a major project of the Sweater Coat in Grannies. That was okay though since I knew baby girl was not due until December. I also went away for three weeks to Indiana and took this with me; however, got in way less knitting time than I had planned. I was struggling to get it finished in time, even though I had so much advance notice!

Can you believe I finished this on 12/15/19 and baby girl was born the exact same day? We had book club scheduled and we thought it was going to be the last one where we would get to see the baby bump again and lo and behold, she sent us a group text that she was sorry to miss book club, but little miss decided to come a little early!

I haven’t seen them as of yet, but will soon (our next book club is January 26th) and then I will gift her the blanket. I’ve also made a sweet little hat for her, but I’ll blog about that another time since this is getting a little long.

FYI…this yarn pills when it is washed. I washed it on Gentle cycle with Dreft Newborn detergent and had it in the dryer for about 20 minutes. I took it out to let it finish air drying and there were little balls all over it that transferred onto my sweatshirt. I let it finish air drying, then used a lint brush to get all the bits off it, then washed again and let it air dry again. There were fewer bits the second time; however I probably won’t use this yarn again. The pictures show the final result.

Here’s the pics!

How’s your New Year going? Ours has been super busy with friends from the UK here; however they went home this weekend. This will be the year of knitting for me and I’m so excited to start my next project…The Weekender by Andrea Mowry!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Knit Potion says:

    What a lovely blanket, Paula! Your friend will treasure it, I know. My mom’s birthday is December 15th, so that’s a special day for me. I hope it’s a good sign that baby was born that day and that it brings a lifetime of health and happiness for parents and baby alike. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww…thanks so much 🙂 I wish the same for them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ReginaMary says:

    I love this blanket. That baby is blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I love the pattern too…looks really hard, but is super simple 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.