FO – Halo’s Hat

Eek! I’m down to two days left and two more cowls to knit! I don’t think I’m going to make it in time to mail by Christmas. Not unless I pay a really hefty fee. You can’t say that I didn’t give it the old college try 🙂 It’s okay though. Lucky for me that I have understanding in-laws.

Continuing with my grief knitting, this one was for my oldest niece Ashley’s daughter, Halo. I knit this hat, then had leftover yarn to make Rhea’s hat (which I already blogged about). I still had leftovers from the skein that went in my pile of scraps. Hopefully, one day, I will make a scrap blanket.

I made some edits to make what I thought would be a good fit. I cast on with 80 stitches on larger needles than called for in the pattern. The pattern does give instructions from Preemie to Teenager; however I thought that 96 stitches would have made it too large even using size US 6 needles. I also used a decrease pattern (which are in my notes on Ravelry) from another hat since I liked it better. Once again, I love this yarn for little girls. It’s very colorful, really soft and has the bonus of being machine wash & dry.

Ravelled Here: Basic Baby Hat

Started and Finished 10/31/15 – 11/1/15

Needles: US 8 – 5.0 mm 16 inch circulars and DPNs

Yarn: RedHeart Gumdrop in the color Cherry

Made For: Grand Niece Halo

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

IMG_0035

Finished Hat!

IMG_0033

Top of Hat! Looks like swirled frosting on top of a cupcake 🙂

IMG_0222

Blurry pic of Halo that my niece took at their house in Kentucky…I don’t think she likes to stand still 🙂

One thought on “FO – Halo’s Hat

Leave a Reply

