FO – MJ’s Hospital Hat

Hi All!

I feel really bad that I haven’t been blogging as much as before. I guess just like there are ebbs and flows in life, there are in blogging as well. I noticed that I’ve only had four posts in the last few months. That makes me sad. The good news is that I am 100% healed from my Cubital Tunnel Syndrome and am back in the knitting groove.

I talked a few days ago about a baby hat I recently finished and it’s absolutely adorable. It is in the same color realm as the Baby Mitten Socks I made for the same Mama and in the exact yarn that I am using for the baby blanket. It is truly a newborn hat and won’t fit him for very long; however Mama wanted something for him to wear home from the hospital. I will make him another hat at a later date since he will be born in May and won’t need one for awhile.

I was really sick (am slowly recovering on some strong antibiotics) when knitting the hat and misunderstood the decrease instructions. Note to self: when you see something within a set of asterisks that says repeat, you should start over again at the beginning of the asterisk. LOL. I don’t know how I read the instructions as * K2tog, K10, SSK, K10, K2tog, K10, SSK, K10 *. It was supposed to be *K2tog, K10, SSK*.  I’m such a dodo head. This resulted in a pointier, elf like hat. Since it had that type of look, I decided to finish it off with a 3 1/2 inch i-cord, which I then tied into a knot.

The designer saw my project notes and reached out to me to let me know how I had read the pattern wrong. She also, rather graciously, said that she liked the way mine had turned out. I will be knitting this pattern again for a girl baby that’s being born a little after this boy baby, so I’ll have another chance to do the pattern justice.

Ravelled Here: MJ’s Hospital Hat

Started / Finished: 2/23/17 (Yes, it was fast!)

Needles: US3 (3.25mm) and US4 (3.5mm) DPN’s

Yarn Used: Caron Simply Soft Solids in the color Blue Mint (22 grams)

And here’s the finished baby hat! Isn’t it adorable?

Also, a quick side note. My hubby and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary on Friday. We were really sick so we didn’t get to do anything; however he sent me the most gorgeous flowers! The fifth anniversary is wood so he bought me a gorgeous cherry bookcase and I got him a really nice guitar speaker box (something that you put a speaker in that projects the sound).

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “FO – MJ’s Hospital Hat

  1. I’m sorry you were so sick. No matter how experienced we are as knitters we do make mistakes. Happy anniversary; what a beautiful bouquet of flowers. Glad your hands and wrists are pain free.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely – My friend was showing me a this pattern – or a very similar one – only the other day. Don’t be so hard on yourself about the mistaken pattern reading, our brains are ill as well of the rest of our body, that’s why you misread it. Glad you’re on the mend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

