Once Upon A Sock: June 2018

OnceUponaSockroundedrectangle

Hi All! It’s that time again…the first Thursday of the month. If you are new here, welcome! If you’re not, welcome back and thank you for following! Last month we decided to do something new with Once Upon a Sock (OUAS) and created a link party. It worked out quite well and is much easier than updating links as each person posts around the world. I hope more people will join in; however the beauty of this link party is that you can hop in and out as you please. If you have something to talk about, link up! If not, skip til the next month. Also, you can crochet socks too…it’s not just knitting 🙂

The company I am using to host the link party has just come out with a beta version, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I did everything correctly this month. Also, to answer my own question from last month, apparently WordPress has some restrictions, one of which is that you cannot embed scripts or objects, thus you can only host a linkup that displays in an external page and not inside your post.

Therefore, you have to click the link from my page to see the other blogs that have linked up. It’s really easy to link up…just click the link button below and follow the directions. The only thing I ask is that you provide a link back to my blog when posting about it on your blog so that others can find me, in addition to the link party. FYI…I am on the West Coast of the US and am hours behind everyone. If there is an issue, I will find out about it when I wake up in the morning…please be patient if there are issues! I’m still learning 🙂

So, now that business is out of the way, let’s get to what we are really here for…socks!!! I really didn’t think I would have anything to talk about this month. I’ve spent most of the past month working on a crocheted baby blanket and also trying to get gauge on a commissioned crocheted granny square coat. I’ll talk more about both of those projects at a later time. I even took my socks with me on vacation and didn’t have time to work on them.

However, this past weekend I told my husband that I needed some down time. Some time where we didn’t have a single thing planned…and no picnic trips to the wineries either! Although that sounds relaxing, and it is, I still have to prep everything for said picnic and then know that I won’t get anything done once wine tasting has ended. I learned my lesson that too much wine and knitting do not mix.

So, I had a glorious whole weekend to work on my socks! I got quite a bit done and am pleased to share my progress. I have completed the leg portion of the socks and am ready to start the heels. Now, I have to figure out, do I want to knit them concurrently or one at a time until I get back to the foot? What method do you find works best for you? I’ve done both and prefer working on them concurrently because if I mess up something on one, I can mess it up on the other too…or go back and fix it immediately. If I’m working them one at a time, then the chance that they may turn out slightly different is possible and I prefer them to be the same.

OnceUponaSockunicorn

Ok…confession time. After I wrote the above, I decided to grab my socks to take some progress pictures. Remember how I said last month that I had to start over because the 60 stitch pattern was hanging off my leg? And I had to frog everything and go to the 50 stitch pattern? Well, it turns out that was a huge mistake. Also, why did I wait until now to try them on again? Do I ever learn my lesson about trying things on as you go? Argh!!! Although you see a picture of the sock on my leg, I had to fight to get it on. Socks should not be about fighting to put them on.

IMG_6766

I’ve also found that there are four very distinct ladders spread out evenly on each sock even though I’ve been knitting them TAAT on Magic Loop. How the heck did that even happen?

IMG_6767

Can I confess? I hate these socks. I think I have hated them from the very beginning. Maybe that hate bled into my knitting of said socks? I’ve decided to frog the and I don’t even know if the yarn will be reusable as I’ve cut it after every color change. I even knotted the two ends together. EEK! Here’s one last look at them. Bye socks!!!

IMG_6768

It’s time to move on to something that brings me joy. Life is too short to knit something you are not in love with. Ooh…that means I get to go hunt on Ravelry for a new sock pattern and decide which yarn will be perfect! Or go into my queue and try something I’ve been dying to cast on!

Until next time, Happy Knitting!

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Awwww frogged socks 😦 I’m sorry they didn’t work out for you – but congrats on having the nerve to pull them apart! And I’m really looking forward to seeing what you decide to work on next.

    I think there might be something up with the link this month – when I click on it it takes me to a page full of code? Hopefully easily fixable!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still haven’t frogged them; however will as soon as I get a minute 🙂 Hopefully I can make something else out of the yarn. I have gone back to the old InLinkz button and sent you an email to test it; however I tested it with my own blog and it’s working now!!! So sorry about that…technology can be a pain sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. maryd1960 says:

    Life is too short to waste good yarn on socks you don’t love. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen! I like the yarn itself, I just don’t think it’s meant to be these socks 🙂

      Like

  3. Stefanie says:

    Yeah, totally, if you hate them, frog them suckas. My teen’s sock I’m knitting one at a time b/c I only have one set of short US 2’s. I can’t really tell yet if I like one at a time or concurrent knitting as I’ve only done the latter once.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What kind of short set do you have? A 9 inch circular? Or are you doing magic loop? I think I need to knit lots more socks and try different variations to determine what I like the best. I think I’ve learned something new with each pair and I just haven’t settled into my favorite as of yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Stefanie says:

        I have Clover Takumi bamboo DPN’s. I’m curious about the 9″ circular way. I learned Magic Loop long ago but it’s kind of cramped for my hands that way.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aha! I’ve seen 9 inch circulars from podcasts and other bloggers. I don’t know if I would like them as I think THEY would cause my hands to cramp. Although, I guess you never know until you try! I think Stacie from Very Pink Knits has done a review on them.

        Like

      3. Stefanie says:

        Yeah, I think it’s all about personal preference. I have knitted w/9″ for baby hats and got used to them while waiting in the car but I feel that length may be a bit trickier for a sock project.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Meg Jones says:

    Life is definitely too short to knit socks you don’t love! Well done for frogging!

    If I am not knitting TaaT or otherwise prevented, I tend to knit concurrently. My helical beees are going to be the current exception to that rule as I haven’t split the yarn and wanted to check measurements first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen, sister! I think I will stick to either TAAT or concurrently myself. Maybe I’ll try that for my next pair…depends on what I choose 🙂

      Like

  5. Sometimes it’s best to let go!! Glad you realized they weren’t bringing you joy — on to some more fun socks!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So very true…and I’m glad I did. Now, to make time to find my next pair. I’m gazing longingly at my sock swap yarn. I think it would be awesome to start there 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh can’t wait to see what you do!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Knit Potion says:

    Oh, my gosh! HUGE applause to you for daring to frog! I am always loath to do it but find myself filled relief when I finally take the leap. Can’t wait to see what you cast on next!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 It’s definitely better to admit defeat than to continue on. I feel the same way…a lot of relief. I can’t wait to see what I cast on next too 🙂 I’m having difficulty deciding.

      Like

  7. madgeface says:

    I absolutely agree that life is too short to work on something that doesn’t bring you joy! I hope you’ve found a pattern (and yarn?) that sing to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not yet; however hopefully soon! I’m sure whatever they are, they will bring great joy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Gracey says:

    Sorry they didn’t work out for you…..I totally forgot about the link this month…last weeks of school and dealing with extreme exhaustion from my psoriatic arthritis has knocked me out….next month, I’ll catch up

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s all good! That’s the beauty of a link up party 🙂 You can drop in and out as you please. I hope you start to feel better soon. My hubby took care of our dog yesterday and let me sleep in until 9:30. That helped me out a lot!!! I hope you get to relax a little during summer vacation. Take care of yourself!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.