Once Upon a Sock – July 2018

OnceUponaSockroundedrectangle

Hi All!

Do you knit or crochet socks? Do you like to blog about them and share your progress? The first Thursday of every month, my friends and I link up with each other and talk about our socks…the good, the bad, and the ugly. The beauty of a link up party is being able to jump in and out when you want to share….even if you’ve knit just one row or want to talk about what you are dreaming of making next. Click the link below to join in, follow the instructions, then link back to my blog so we can all share in the happiness of your gorgeous socks! Feel free to use the beautiful OUAS imags Stefanie from stefaniecraftswithwoolpaperfabric created just for us. All three are included within my blog.

OnceUponaSockovalstripes.jpg

Now that business is out of the way, let’s get to talking about socks! If you are new to my blog, welcome! If you’re not, welcome back and thank you for following! After last months debacle, I wanted to find a pattern to knit with the yarn I received from my sock swap partner, Reanna from Knit, Reanna, knit. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find anything that floated my boat with that particular yarn so I’ll save it for next time.

What I did find was a paid for pattern I’ve been wanting to knit since I started learning how to knit socks. It’s called Jelly Rolls by Mara Catherine Bryner. I love the construction of these and can’t wait to finish so I can wear them while Summer is still struggling to appear in the Bay Area.

I decided to knit these concurrently so I am completing one section for the first sock, then moving to the second and so on. I’m knitting a 72 stitch sock with US 1 (2.25 mm) circulars for the sock itself and US 2 (2.75 mm) DPNs for the heel flap, heel turn and possibly the gusset.

The yarn I’m using for the main color (A) is West Yorkshire Spinners Signature 4 ply Self Striping in the colorway Rum Paradise. The yarn I’m using for the secondary color (B) is leftovers I received from a friend getting rid of her extra bits and is Spud & Chloë Fine in the colorway Dragonfly. I adore both of these colorways and seriously can’t wait to see what’s coming next with the self striping yarn.

I’ve messed up in a few places and had to restart sections due to my own misunderstandings of this type of construction (not the patterns fault); however have soldiered through and am falling in love more and more as I get further along. Here are pictures of my progress along the way. You can roll over each image to see what I was doing.

 

 

So, that’s where I am right now! Aren’t these gorgeous? I’ve completed the heel flap and turn on one sock and have moved on to the second. I dare say I may even have a completed set of socks by next months post!

Until then, Happy Knitting!

OnceUponaSockunicorn

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Gracey says:

    Yes, I’ve wanted to make Jelly Rolls too…they just looks so cool….For the heel issue with me, it’s just I end up stopping there, because I have to take the time and pay attention to that section…so I don’t take them with me, so many times I just start a new vanilla sock to travel…and just a BTW, my name is spelled with a “y” not “ie”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eek! I’m so sorry, Tammy! My stepmom’s name is Tammie and I should have double checked before posting. And after I posted, I realized I had really messed up because I didn’t get yarn from you! I sent you yarn 😀 So, needless to say, I’ve changed it to the proper name…LOL I thought I was going to take mine to knitting group today; however I think you’re right. It takes too much concentration to do heels. Luckily, I’m on vacation and will have plenty of time to work on them after knitting group. I’m loving this pattern…it’s such a cool construction.

      Like

  2. Knit Potion says:

    Super cute!!!! The colorway is perfect for this pattern! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Melinda! I think so too 🙂

      Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I LOVE those colors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jennifer! Me too 🙂

      Like

  4. Paula these are such cute socks! I love htem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Katherine! Me too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh these are such cute socks, I love them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kat 🙂 Me too!

      Like

  6. Yep, they’re gorgeous! How fun is that striping effect on the heel flap!?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So much fun…and so pretty too 🙂 Thank you!

      Like

  7. Stefanie says:

    Those are fun colors. Do you always knit Magic Loop cuff-down? I want to try TAAT toe up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Stefanie! I think they are fun too. I do not always knit Magic Loop cuff-down. I love knitting TAAT toe up. It’s just that the patterns I’ve been working on lately call for cuff down and I’m not confident enough as of yet to change the pattern and try to work backwards 🙂 The very first pair of socks I knit, I did toe up using a provisional cast on and german short rows. I knit those one at a time on DPN’s.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.