WIP – OPEN TEST Charity’s Wrap

I’m currently working on another test pattern for Linda Browning (aka tinyknit) from Ravelry. It is the second, in a series of to be written patterns, designed around Harry Potter staff members. You might remember the first pattern I tested from this series, Septima’s Asymmetrical Shawlette. This one is inspired by Charity Burbage (due to the speed and ease of the design) and is called Charity’s Wrap.

The pattern can be worked up as a wrap or scarf; you can even widen the pattern into a shawl. The recommended yarn is bulky weight (wrap) or worsted weight (scarf) in two different colors.

I chose what I thought was a bulky weight yarn; however, it turned out to be super bulky. No worries though, as the pattern is quite flexible. The yarn is called Loops & Threads Charisma and I purchased the skeins at Michael’s Craft Store for $4.49 each. That makes this a very inexpensive project!

The color for the main part of the pattern is Northern Lights; a beautiful combination of teal, purple, cobalt blue, green and dark gray/black. The yarn is soft and squishy and works up very quickly. The color for the lace section of the pattern is Electric Blue (matches the teal color in the main color) and I am using size US 13 – 9.0 mm needles.

There is an increase section (44 rows), an even section (93 repeats of two rows) and a decrease section (44 rows). Then you pick up stitches and add a lace border. I am currently finished with the increase section and 70 repeats of the even section. The yarn is working up beautifully and I can’t wait to finish the main section and get started on the lace. If you are on Ravelry and would like to see my notes, check in here.

I’ve never blocked projects with acrylic yarn and will need to do so to open up the lace section. I know I can do a Google search; however does anyone out there have any special tips and tricks they would like to share? I will share final pictures once the pattern is officially up on Ravelry 🙂

Happy Knitting!

Loops & Threads Charisma - Northern Lights

Loops & Threads Charisma – Northern Lights

Loops & Threads Charisma - Electric Blue

Loops & Threads Charisma – Electric Blue

Increase section complete

Increase section complete

Even Section

Even Section

6 thoughts on “WIP – OPEN TEST Charity’s Wrap

    • Thank you! I have blocking mats and have blocked many natural yarns; however have never blocked acrylic. I’ve seen many tutorials on steam blocking and wet blocking. I was just looking for some advise on tried and true methods 🙂 Thank you for asking your better half!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

